Rosie’s Assessment

I had two therapists in my home today, evaluating Rosie’s development. Assessing Rosie took about 45 minutes of ‘testing’. The therapists brought lots of developmental toys that look much like the ones in Rosie’s stash in my living room cabinet. For a two year old, Rosie’s social skills are right on track, her reasoning skills are as well. My daughter’s verbal skills are 6 months behind. Why am I not surprised? Rosie had obviously had enough at that point, and began screaming. We’re talking ear-piercing, wake-the-dead, obnoxious screaming. The therapists talked over the noise like they encountered this every day, reassuring me that I was doing the right thing by ignoring my daughter during her fit-throwing session. While my two-year-old continued her tiny tirade, the women asked me lots of questions and wrote down each of my responses. This was an easy test, since I already knew most of the answers.
Then came the question that stumped me: Where would you like to see Rosie’s development in six months?
I must have looked perplexed, since I was quickly prompted, “It could be as simple as, “I’d like to hear Rosie speaking more real words.” I formulated the words in my mind, then said, “I’d like for Rosie to be able to verbalize her feelings, tell me when she’s mad/frustrated and put an end to these tantrums.”

Finally, DH managed scoop Rosie up and save the day – or at least my sanity. He didn’t do much better than I did. DH might be my Knight in Shining Armor, but Rosie continued to raise proverbial cane, and the ladies and I could hear my daughter screaming from the other room. We discussed the need for behavioral therapy as well as speech therapy. I wanted to hug these new friends! We scheduled twice a month for the Speech Therapy, and once month for Behavioral Therapy. I know that soon I will be longing for the days when Rosie wasn’t talking.

2 Comments

  1. Megan said,

    September 14, 2005 at 8:42 pm

    I work for an agency in Arkansas that does that sort of therapeutic behavioral treatment with kids and starting early is the best thing! And you are right about the speech therapy–she’ll be talking your ears off in no time!
    I’m not sure which campus of Fellowship you attend but my good friend from Oklahoma Baptist U.-Ryan McMackin will be leading worship at the Alliance campus soon. He and his wife are moving there this week. I read your profile and it ‘clicked’ today. So if you go to that campus give him a hard time, he likes it! šŸ™‚

  2. Erin said,

    September 15, 2005 at 7:16 am

    I’ve been at the Grapevine Campus since 2000. I’ll have to go check out the Alliance campus and give Ryan the ‘hard time’ you requested.
    Any particular jab you’d like me to get in on your behalf?


Leave a Reply

