Something’s not right

At lunch yesterday, Rosie did not eat one bite. In fact, she pushed her entire plate away and signed ‘enough’. That’s her version of American Sign Language for ‘finished’ (read: Mah-mah, please free me from the bonds of this booster seat before I go postal!) I wiped her mouth and hands, forgetting that she had not eaten anything to make them sticky, unbuckled her from her seat, and helped her down. Rosie made a beeline for her room. I mean Do Not pass Go, Do Not collect $250, Go straight to Jail kind of beeline. I heard no loud noises coming from her room, so I sat and visited with Catie as she ate her lunch. When she finished and cleaned up, she asked me, “Where’s Rosie?” Oh, snot! I had forgotten. Aren’t short naps great?

Catie and I walked around the corner and saw Rosie, belly-down in her gateless crib, covered up with a blanket and sucking on her fingers-of-choice, sound asleep. I stood there in amazement for a minute or two. I realized that Rosie can put herself to sleep, she no longer needs me to rub her back as my feet fall asleep. Shecandoit!

When Rosie awoke from her nap, she had a 102 degree fever. So that was it: sleepy baby = sick baby. I gave her Motrin and cuddled with her until it kicked in. She was fine the rest of the afternoon.

Again, last night, after the dinner Rosie did not touch, my DH found her snuggled up in her own bed, before her normal 8PM bedtime. I felt her head – YOUCH! Sadly, I had to wake her to give her another dose of Motrin. She did not go back to sleep until after 10.

When Rosie woke me at 5AM, the Motrin was still working. I gave her more at 6AM. She still shows no other signs of illness. I’ll keep an eye on her. My good eye, I mean, and post an update later.

Leave a comment