Dilemmas, dilemmas


As part of our evening routine (read: T-minus 90 minutes until bedtime), one of my daughters chooses a book for me to read to them, and one for them to read to me. Halie and Catie each have ‘choosing days’, where they can sit in any seat in the house/car, choose what books we read, but has also been pre-determined to be bathed first. Odd days are Halie’s, Evens are Catie’s.

That said, yesterday was Halie’s choosing day. She chose one of David Shannon’s books to read to me, A Bad Case of Stripes. He offers straightforward stories that are written from the child’s perspective: No David, David Goes to School. Halie also chose a book that she loves for me to read at bedtime: Where the Wild Things Are, by author/illustrator, Maurice Sendak. Beautifully illustrated, featured in the picture above.

Halie read her chosen book to me, Catie and Rosie, with some help of course. All of my daughters get serious when I read about the Wild Things, and I was at the point in the story where Max is sent to his room without dinner, when I heard a resonant rumble against the leather next to me. Halie and I locked eyes, and she said, “Pardon me.” I thanked her and was about to continue the story when the smell hit me – like a wet wool blanket – heavy and unbearable. Catie, who was seated on the other side of her well-mannered sister, reached to pinch her nose and hold it closed. Catie drew in her first breath through her mouth, and said, “Yuck! It tastes bad, too!” Halie just smiled.

So that is always a dilemma. Would you rather Smell it or Taste it?

2 Comments

  1. lisam said,

    August 30, 2005 at 1:38 pm

    Smell it!

  2. Lindsay said,

    August 30, 2005 at 10:43 pm

    I love your blog- I came across it while reading about Miss Maywee and her crazy antics. Your girls sound just as hilarious! Keep posting- I LOVE it!


Leave a Reply

