What’s a djembe anyway?!


My younger sister has taught herself to play many instruments: the organ before she started Kindergarten, guitar before high school, piano after high school, and finally hand-percussion drums: congos, a djembe, as well as empty 5 gallon bottles. You name it. ( Sorry my seester if my memory fails me now, I can always update later if you let me know what I’ve forgotten)) While I took private vocal training, my sister took none. I still cannot carry a tune, even if it comes with a built-in handle, and my sister has been blessed with a naturally powerful, golden voice, and a CD or two. I did play a French Horn long ago, took private lessons, and never did master it. Now, all I can play is the radio! In fact, if one of my girls hears my vocal attempts over the songs on the radio, she asks me to turn it up. Not Rosie, though. She still hasn’t figured out that I’m no Kelly Clarkson. Any day now, that illusion is history!
I admire the woman that my sister has become. She’s evidence of our family ‘motto’: ‘When you get knocked down, stand up, dust yourself off, and go somewhere that you can make your mark.’ I think she’s done better than dusting herself off. My sister hit the ground rolling! Okay, so it’s not our motto. Our Italian family motto would be more like : ‘Are you lookin’ at me? Do youwannapieceofme? Would you like to sleep with the fishes?’ Just kidding. We’re much more subtle than that. Heehee.
As a young woman, my sister married her best friend and sweetheart in a ceremony that will live forever in history, six years ago this weekend. Her husband is just about as funny and likeable as they come, brave enough to celebrate entering his thirties by wearing a purple mohawk, as well as a man of God, and I’m honored just to call him family. Their marriage has been amazing to watch, as they began a new church, genuinely reach out to the community, and are still leading worship for the body of believers. My sister, an expectant mommy, is indeed making her mark for the glory of God. Did I mention how excited I am to be an Aunt-to-be?

Leave a Reply

