Whisper please!


Rosie, my 2 year old, had an official hearing test today. The Audiologist told me what I already knew: Rosie hears me just fine. My mother says that at the same age, I had selective hearing. Rosie’s pediatrician thinks that her delay in speaking is because she has four people ‘translating’ each grunt, then giving her what she wants. I thought Rosie was having the same hearing issues that her older sister, Catie, had years ago – that particular problem was resolved with ‘tubes’ at 18 months, and Catie spoke almost immediately afterward. So, all this time, I’ve been thinking: ‘Raise your voice, and then she’ll understand.’ Turns out that Rosie can hear me even when I whisper her name!
Okay, so she’s not hard- of -hearing, Rosie’s hard- of-listening. I expected that my own fiery mane combined with my DH’s Irish ancestry would produce at least one redhead. None of my daughters shares my hair color, but they do each possess the flames within! Not angry, but determined, in an obstinate kind of way… It’s nice to know what I’m up against: Rosie’s mostly feline: She knows darn well what I’m saying, and she’s deciding if she wants to comply…Meow!

2 Comments

  1. mrs. nygren said,

    August 11, 2005 at 10:46 am

    Isn’t there a saying about apples not falling far from the tree? Let’s take a little trip back to our childhood…

    *********
    Mom: Here, you guys split the rest of this soda.
    You: *glug glug glug*
    Me: Hey, save me some!
    You: *glug glug glug glug glug* (setting down the empty can) Did you say something?
    *********

    Hey, we outgrew it, maybe she will too…
    🙂

  2. Erin said,

    August 11, 2005 at 11:56 am

    Yes, my seester, I did suffer from the safe affliction years ago when I was young (sniff), and I DID grow out of it. Aren’t you glad there was just TWO of us, and not THREE?


Leave a Reply

